14th Annual Maryland Patient Safety Conference
April 13, 2018

Hilton Baltimore

Click here for more information

Registration Fees
MPSC Members: Free
Non-Members: $299 until March 16
$345 between March 17 and March 30
On-site: $399

Click here for 2018 Top Twenty Minogue Award for Patient Safety Innovation Submissions

The 14th Annual Maryland Patient Safety Center Conference was held on April 13, 2018 at the Baltimore Hilton from 8:00 AM until 3:30PM.  This annual event drew nearly 1500 healthcare participants from our region, and included patient safety subject matter experts and highlighted the work that is being done in regional healthcare organizations.  This year we were thrilled to have Rosemary Gibson, Senior Advisor from The Hastings Center as our Opening Keynote Presenter, and Ridley Barron,  author, speaker and tireless patient safety advocate as our Closing Keynote. 

Please click on the name of the presentation below to access the slides for that presentation.

Key Ballroom A
Track 1
Key Ballroom B
Track 2
Key Ballroom C
Track 3
Key Ballroom D
Track 4
Intra-facility Patient Transfers:
Risky Business
Cheryl Connors, MS, RN

Patient Safety Specialist Armstrong Inst. for Patient Safety
and Quality
Johns Hopkins Medicine

Dennis Jones, DNP, RN, CCNS

Safety & Quality Officer
Lifeline Critical Care Transport
Program, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Communication Access:
Improving Patient Safety by
Decreasing Communication
Barriers in the
Healthcare Setting
Denise McCall, MA, CCC-SLP

Program Director

Lisa Thornburg, MA, CCC-SLP

Assistant Director
SCALE@The League

FY 17 Office of Health Care
Quality Patient Safety Update
Anne Jones, RN, BSN, MA

Nurse Program Consultant
Office of Health Care Quality

From Deny and Defend
A Comprehensive and
Principled Approach to
Responding when Patient
Safety Events Occur
Martin Hatlie, JD


Kelly Smith, PhD

Senior Director, Research
MedStar Institute for Quality & Safety

Medication Assisted
A Priority Response to
Maryland’s Opioid Crisis
Kathleen Rebbert-Franklin, LCSW-C

Health Promotion & Prevention,
Behavioral Health
Maryland Department of Health

The End of Life Care Journey:
Ensuring the Safest Care
for our Patients

Carol Cronin

Executive Director
Informed Patient Institute

Seth Krevat, MD

Palliative Medicine,MedStar
Georgetown University Hospital

Matt Austin, PhD

Assistant Professor
Johns Hopkins University in the
Armstrong Institute for
Patient Safety & Quality

Minogue Award for
Patient Safety
Innovation Winner:
S.T.A.R.T. with the Patient
Leslie Clark, RN, LBSW, MSN

Director, Population Health

Lori Wilson, RN, BSN, MA

Assistant VP, Patient Services
UM Upper Chesapeake
Medical Center

Evidence over Ideology:
Aligning SUD science, policy
and practice
Tracey Myers-Preston

The Maryland Addictions Directors

Kathleen O’Brien, PhD

Chief Executive Officer
Walden Behavioral Health

Addressing the
“Seemingly Untouchables”?
The Case of Dr. X
Gerald Hickson, MD

Senior Vice President for Quality,
Safety & Risk Prevention
Vanderbilt University

Voices of Patients & Families:
A Panel Discussion

Cheryl & Paul Douglass

Patient & Family Advocates

Jack Gentry

Patient & Family Advocate

Ginger Rosela

Patient & Family Advocate

Robert Imhoff

President & CEO,MPSC

Distinguished Achievement
in Patient Safety
Innovation Winner:
Reducing Opioid Prescribing:
A Health System Responds
to the Epidemic
Barry Meisenberg, MD

Director, DeCesaris Cancer Institute
Anne Arundel Medical Center

The Safety Learning
Collaborative: Redefining
Patient Safety
Jeanne Huddleston, MD

President and CEO
HB Healthcare Safety, SBC

Tony Calibria

Clinical Quality & Regulatory
Programs Director
MedStar Institute for Quality & Safety