Facebook Facebook

Minogue Award: Call for Solutions
Click here for application

Patient Safety Evolving:
Inspiration. Innovation. Collaboration. 
13th Annual Maryland Patient Safety Conference

Click here for the 2017 Sponsorship Program and Application 

Patient Safety Conference

Each year, the Center brings together over 1200 healthcare professionals and nationally recognized speakers and presenters to learn and exchange best practices related to current issues surrounding patient safety. Held each year in the spring, the Center’s annual patient safety conference is a must attend event for anyone interested in improving patient care and expanding their knowledge of best patient safety practices.

2016 Conference Presentations

Bridging the Cultural Divide Through Innovation: A Case Study in Patient Safety Certification (Imhoff/
   Van Waes)

Office of Health Care Quality Annual Update on Reported Adverse Events (Jones)
Why Cognition Matters: The Importance of Assessing and Managing Cognitive Care Transitions (Mansbach)
Multidisciplinary Approach to Reduce Delirium in the ICU (Amrein/Rossi)
Tailored Sepsis Care: Designing a Plan to Cut Readmissions (Schorr)
HAIs: How to Protect Patients from Key Pathogens Caused by Environmental Surface Contamination

Opioids and Patient Safety (Terplan)
INTERACT: Interventions to Reduce Acute Care Transfers (Thomas/Clark/Hirsch)
Organizational Culture Changes Result in Improvement in Patient-Centered Outcomes: Implementation of an
   Enhanced Recovery Program for Surgical Patients at Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System (Wick)

2016 Annual Conference Solutions

Minogue Award for Patient Safety Innovation
Organizational Culture Changes Result in Improvement in Patient-Centered Outcomes

Distinguished Achievement in Patient Safety Innovation
Multidisciplinary Approach to Reduce Delirium in the ICU

Circle of Honor for Patient Safety Innovation
Getting to the Core of Readmission Prevention through Integrated Care Coordination
Back to Basics: A Multidisciplinary Team Approach to the Reduction of Surgical Site Infections
Calvert CARES: Collaborative Activation of Resources and Empowerment Services Building Programs to Fit
    Patients vs. Bending Patients to Fit Programs

Implementing a Bundled Set of Alarm Reduction Interventions to Address TJC Alarm Management National
    Patient Safety Goal

Access Health: Addressing Barriers to Reduce Avoidable ED Visits
Value Based Care Using Centering Pregnancy to Make a Difference to Achieve a Triple Aim Effect
Care Beyond What Meets the Eye: Transforming the Patient and Family Experience Through a Coordinated
    Care Model

Center for Clinical Resources

Additional Solutions
A 10-Year Journey of Engaging Patients in Patient Safety Education, Research and Improvement
A Lean Violence Reduction Initiative for a High Acuity Psychiatric Inpatient Unit
A Rapid, Effective Approach to 100% VTE Core Measure Compliance
Ambulatory Innovation: Safe Practices for Recruitment, Training & Retention of Competent Medical Assistants
Ambulatory Surgery Center Efficiency Study
Antimicrobial Stewardship to Improve Medication Safety
Bedside Medication Verification: Using a Systematic Approach to Improve Scan Rates
Code Delivery
Comprehensive Unit Safety Program (CUSP) Collaboration Across Units
Creating an Aesthetically and Safe State of the Art Nursing Unit
De-escalation Training for Medical-Surgical Nurses in the Acute Care Setting
Design, Education, and Implementation of a Critical Care Unit Computerized Documentation System
Developing a Culture of Teamwork Takes Time, Creativity and Resources
Development and Implementation of Comprehensive Performance Metrics
Development of an Electronic Adverse Drug Reaction Surveillance System at a Psychiatric Hospital
Development of an Innovative, Evidence Based Practice Project: Building a Difficult Access Team in an
    Emergency Department
Evaluation of the RISE Peer Support Program
"Excelling" at Managing Short/Backorder Drugs
Exclusive Breast Feeding Increase with Baby Friendly
Family Involvement Program
Getting to the Core of Readmission Prevention through Integrated Care Coordination
Getting to ZERO CLABSIs: Part 2 Standardizing Central Line Dressing Change
Human Factors Approach to Analyze and Reduce Duplicate MRN
Identifying, Ameliorating and Preventing Financial Toxicity Among Cancer Patients
Identifying Errors: A Case for Medication Reconciliation Technicians
Impact on Readmission Rates of Psychiatric Patients Following Pharmacist Discharge Counseling in a
    Community Hospital

Implementation of Comprehensive Pharmacy Services in a Community Teaching Hospital Emergency

Improved Patient Safety through an Acuity Driven Tool for Equitable Geographic Assignments on the
    Progressive Care Unit (PCU)

Improving Efficiency of In-Patient Throughput in a Community Hospital MRI Unit
Improving Intimate Partner Violence Screening and Referrals
Improving Safety with the 5 WHO Moments
Improving the Delivery of Troponin Results to the Emergency Department Using Lean Methodology
Improving Throughput of Joint and Spine Patients from Phase I: A Rapid Improvement Event
Increase Near Miss Reporting Initiative
Increased Awareness of Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Principles with the Implementation of a
    Hospital-Wide Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Curriculum

Lean Tools for Improvements in the Medication Order and Dispensing Process in Inpatient Units and
    Inpatient Pharmacy

Leveraging Technology to Advance Medication Safety
Mentoring High-Touch Medicine for Improved Patient Outcomes
My (Unique and Very) Personal Medical Record: A Gift Example
Newborn Immersion Bathing at the Mother's Bedside
On a Journey to High Reliability -- A Systems Approach to Communication and Resolution Program

Patients as Partners in High Reliability: A Case Study of We Want to Know
Pediatric Crash Cart Scavenger Hunt -- A Pilot Study of Performance and Perceptions Using Three Different
    Pediatric Emergency Equipment Carts

Pharmacy Renal Dosing Service
Population Health: A Paradigm Shift in How We Care for Behavioral Health Patients
Preventing Staff from Feeling the Blues During a Code Response
Prevention of Healthcare Associated Infection in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
Reducing Blood Culture Contamination in the Emergency Department
Reducing Falls/Infant Drops on the Pediatric Unit
Reducing Preventable Complications
Reduction of Prolonged Ventilation in Isolated Coronary Bypass Graft Surgery: A Cardiovascular Surgery
    Team Collaborative

Referral for Recovery Program
Standardization of Sterilization Processes in the Ambulatory Setting
Successful Compliance with Stroke Registry Measure: Door to Image Time Within 25 Minutes
The Clock is Ticking: Fast Track Extubation after Cardiac Surgery
Using Journal Clubs to Move Research Evidence into Practice to Improve Patient Safety
Using Mock Codes to Improve Performance in Pediatric Cardiopulmonary Arrests
Using Performance Improvement to Enhance Patient Safety
We Found the Missing Piece to Our CLABSI Puzzle